Game Balance

Deceptive title that one.

No rages against CCP here, just a little thought about where we draw the line on balancing the time we spend playing Eve, compared to time we spend working in Eve.

The difference is, the time we spend playing Eve is the time we spend logging in and doing whatever the hell we want,  whereas the time we spend working in Eve is the time we spend on the jobs we have in-game that prevent us from just logging in and doing whatever the hell we want.

As a recruiter myself, I know the issue well. Recruiting takes a lump of time every day, from starting a chat in the recruiting channel and on through the process, it can consume hours on a busy day.

When I was a director as well, it got old very quickly. In a matter of weeks, I stepped down as a director and closed the recruiting channel,  going back to just doing background stuff.

I’m back in the recruiting channel now, but I won’t go back to director any time soon.

The reason for that is that I want to keep game commitments balanced in a way that ensures that I am still actually enjoying logging in.

The reason there needs to be a bit of work involved is down to the fact that I do have a lot of game time.

In fair recompense for the enviable position that I find myself in with being a member our corp, I feel the need to pay back a little of what I take.

Sure, I pay tax on my ratting, I also fund our industry guys by insisting I can PVP and having it proven to me time and again that no, I can’t; another Falcon or three, please.

However, there’s a hidden cost when it comes to being in null-sec rental space; all the things that have to be done to maintain our presence here.

One of those things is a steady flow of new members to keep the corp growing and to replace those that are lost due to all the various reasons that can be summed up in one word; life.

Another one is logistics. Due to the fact that no area of null-sec provides everything needed by our members, stuff has to be shipped in and out.

Yes, we have an alliance shipping service, and a damn good one too (Mulecon rocks!), but new members often need fitted ships brought down, as well as small stuff, like implants and skill-books.

Many of our newer guys cannot afford to use the alliance service, especially for the smaller items, so there needs to be a corp alternative.

POSes need fueling, freighters need scouting and webbing and eyes have to be maintained up and down the pipe. So many other things are needed that I’m not listing it all here.

Someone has to do all this, because it simply won’t do itself. All too often, there’s a lack of people willing to shoulder the load. That’s not really the case for us, but in smaller corps, it can be an issue.

Those who put their hand up to take on some tasks for their corp really need to know that they should be ready to balance out the load that they take on for themselves.

Once you show yourself willing and capable of taking on responsibility, everyone assumes that you can handle a little more. Where it really becomes a problem is that those with the unrealistic expectations often include us, the person with the upraised hand.

We all suffer from the weight of our own expectations, let alone those of other people.

Balancing that can be very problematic, because we always get tempted by that one last thing before we un-dock; that last application to process, that last contract to pick up, or that last POS to be fueled.

In the end, I guess it comes down to facing the very real fact that, if we don’t start putting our own game time ahead of the corps, we end up burning out and not logging in any more.

Now, that actually doesn’t make any sense really, does it?

I mean, those last-minute jobs are definitely not going to get done now, at least not by us, because we’re not there to do them at all. Plus, we aren’t getting any fun for our subscription, although we could, if we just let up on ourselves.

If you’ve ever been in that position, isn’t it true that it can get to the point where you can’t even face logging in?

When it got too much for me, I actually used to open the launcher and stare at it; but, in the end I would just close it again and go do something else.

It’s amusing to note that, quite often, our corp mates have no idea we’re even a little bit burned out. We get private convos and questions the second we log in and it can seem like they think we’re not doing enough.

The secret here is to remember one key thing; we don’t actually have to do anything, it’s a game for crying out loud.

I solved the problem when it happened to me by sending an eve-mail to leadership notifying them of my stepping down as a director and simply closing the recruitment channel.

What surprised me was the amount of concern immediately shown by my corp-mates; not at the loss of someone to do my jobs, but that I might be leaving corp, or the game entirely.

You see, the expectation that existed in my own mind was a lot larger than the expectation of my friends in corp. The problem was largely of my own making and I was the only one that could put an end to it without losing the fun of blowing things up.

So, I just thought I’d share that experience, hopefully someone may find it useful.

It’s all in the mind, you know.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

