Introspective

I’ve been in null sec twice in my Eve lifetime.

The first time, I was in a corp which was part of a renter alliance.

It was run by a cabal of Russian gentlemen who made their native mafia look like amateurs, the greedy thieving bastards.

While the corp was a great place to be for a time, the alliance made life intolerable.

Not that long after I left, the alliance died in a horrible fire when all their deeds turned upon them.

It took me a long time to want to go back to null sec. I couldn’t shake the bitterness in my gut.

Second time round, I have done a lot better.

Anzac Alliance was and is, for me at least, the best Aussie/Kiwi corp in Eve. For an Aussie wanting the full null sec PVP corp experience, just go there and do it.

They have terrific training, heaps of active pilots, good support and logistical services, good infrastructure and, most importantly, a large TS channel presence in the AUTZ.

Now, don’t get me wrong, these boys (and girls) are Australian and Kiwi to the max; if you have a thin skin, don’t like a raucous pub like atmosphere and need to have your sensitive little skin catered for – this is not the corp for you.

If you are an “internet spaceships is srs bznz” type, or a “leet PVP wanker” and expect rigid corp comms and PVP discipline, don’t bother.

If you’re an Aussie or a Kiwi and you want to hang out with some funny (if somewhat deranged) individuals while you laugh and give each other a hard time; all the while learning all about null, join the ANZA APPS channel and tell them Blastie sent you.

So then, considering my obvious admiration for this collective of the southern hemisphere’s dodgiest individuals; why did I leave?

Yes, you read that right, I just left corp.

Null sec, that’s why.

Not the corp, not the alliance, just that beautiful bitch null sec.

Null sec for me is the drop dead gorgeous woman who you know is going to bleed you dry, steal your money, grab your car and run off with the pool cleaner. The relationship is doomed from the start, but while you’re with her you really don’t care.

It goes well for a while, until one day you suddenly realise that you used to have a life outside of Eve.

The trouble I have is that I just burn out on it. There’s not even anything I can put my finger on, it’s just that one day I’ll be going about my business and suddenly realise that the thrill is no longer there.

I find myself logging on not because I want to, but because I have to.

There’s PI to do, ships to be bought, moved or fitted; ops to try to attend, responsibilities toward corp-mates and the ever-present neutrals or reds to try to kill.

The game you played to relax is now the game you play because you have to.

So, I pulled the pin, dropped roles and by lunch time tomorrow I’ll be just another neut in high sec or low sec.

I wouldn’t be surprised if I even park up in high sec and log on to swap up skills for a while, I’m just so tired of it all.

Hope she’s happy with the pool cleaner.

It’s all in the mind, you know.

One response to “Introspective

Leave a Reply

