Sharing

This IS Eve related, eventually. It’s not a long post, stay with me, if you will.

So I had a chance to kick back with some old mates of mine and play some tunes the other night. It’s been a while since I had a night like that.

I’m not a great musician by any means, 22 years of semi-pro playing does not a genius make I’m afraid to say. I can hold my own with the right people, though. And that’s what the other night was like.

I used to be in a band with two of the guys many years ago, two brothers; one on bass and one on lead. The rhythm guitarist was a fairly new player, however. He’s not outstanding, of course; not enough years of shedding yet. He is, by way of reasonable compensation, enthusiastic and dedicated.

For him, the other night was a turning point. He found the reason.

What is the reason? The reason many musicians sacrifice so much of their time in practices, bad gigs, disappointments, set-backs, frustrations and heartache. The reason many renowned players are still touring, long after their fame has dwindled. The reason that live music is still popular, even though so many other pastimes have gone the way of the Dodo.

It’s the thrill, you see. The pure, unadulterated joy you get when you really nail a tune; nail it to the wall and it knocks the wall down.

He’d never experienced it before. I’ve seen it in others so many times and felt it myself even more. It’s indescribable. I could see it in his eyes, and I felt sorry for his wife; she’ll never get him away from music now.

The fact that this happened, with my help, was a great reason for joy for me.

This brings me back to Eve. The new-game shine has gone off of Eve for me, as with so many others. I’ve not spent enough time to be even a half decent player, but I can hold my own with the right people.

This, I think, is the secret to Goons and Test’s success. The older players have found the joy that comes from seeing some new guy for the first time get the reason.

The reason we Eve players sacrifice so much of our time in form-ups, bad fights, disappointments, set-backs, frustrations and heartache. The reason many bitter old players are still flying, long after their enthusiasm has dwindled. The reason that Eve Online is still popular, even though so many other MMO’s have gone the way of the Dodo.

It’s the thrill, you see. The pure, unadulterated rush you get when you really nail a fight, kill a fleet and pod them all down.

So, how about you?

Want to feel that chill down your spine again? You won’t get it yourself, not the way it used to be; you know that.

There are others out there, though. Probably in your corp right now. They haven’t felt it yet. They’re not even aware it even exists yet, not really.

What if you helped them feel it? What if you were there with them, helping, encouraging?

Don’t be leet PVP. Show them the right things to do, give them some room to grow. Train up your new guys with enthusiasm.

Then you can be there when they feel the reason.

The fact that this happened, with your help, could be a great reason for joy for you too.

You have to feel sorry for their wives, though. They’ll never get them away from the computer now.

It’s all in the mind, you know.

Leave a Reply

