Bitter

I have to thank Seismic for keeping the blog banter alive, for the past few months it’s given me a nudge to keep up with at least one post a month. Life has turned a bit of a corner for me now, so I should be writing a bit more at last.

Being in a large corp has exposed me to something that I haven’t seen much of before. Our corp has a very active and pro-active leadership. Therefore inactivity, or worse, leaching, is quickly taken care of.

For those who are unfamiliar with the practice of leaching, some players will join a null sec corp simply to rat or to mine. Much iskies are to be made in null sec by doing this. Our corp has an industrial division just for such people, of which I am a happy member. However, fees do apply and not all players are happy to hand over said readies.

These individuals therefore find it more economical to join as a combat pilot and simply rat or mine to their heart’s content while showing up for very few (if any) actual combat fleets. As mentioned before, our leadership is not asleep. Also, thanks to the efforts of some of our more geeky members, all combat participation is easily tracked and monitored by our very staunch combat directors.

Thus these individuals are taken care of, as mentioned earlier. By taken care of, I mean the offending player is given several warnings and if nothing changes, they are given two days to get out of null before they are removed from the corp.

Our logistics pilots move all their gear out for them and I have yet to see anyone dealt with harshly or unfairly.

This, however, has given rise to that which I’ve never witnessed before – the “revenge” of a couple of particularly bitter people.

The first guy was actually a member of our indy wing, although the paying of the monthly fees seems to have escaped his notice – for several months; namely all the months he’d been a member. He had an interesting approach to home defence – litter the system with so many of his own ships wrecks that the hostiles would no longer be able to navigate successfully.

Whilst a cunning plan, it has some serious drawbacks; not the least of which is the inherent size of solar systems and the comparative insignificance of shipwrecks. Aside from that is the problem that handing hostiles exactly what they came for – lots of lovely shiny killmails – tends to bring ever-increasing numbers of them to our systems.

His attitude of “they’re my ships and I don’t care if I lose them” came across as a little selfish, especially considering it wasn’t only him that the hostiles were happy to shoot at, or at least deprive game time of.

So it was decided to show this particular individual the door. He chose to spurn the use of our logistical wing and proceeded to take all of his remaining shinies in a non cloaky hauler through the most commonly used gateway system to low sec; another cunning plan – the guys who perma-camp this system would be so shocked to see someone doing something this stupid that they would forget to lock him in time.

Unfortunately, he underestimated how used to stupidity these folks were, he was summarily dispatched and subsequently lost all his stuff.

Apparently, this entire course of events was the fault of our corp and so it was decided we should be punished.

A few days later he arrives back in our systems, in a cloaky nullified Tengu – specifically designed by CCP to be a right royal pain in the arse.

So we chased him around a bit. He jumped into one of our mining systems and the scout reports probes out – core scanner probes. Oookkkaaayyyy …

The scout then reports the probes in a group at a belt – o?

We all jump in and fly to the belt and there are the probes. We fly around the probes a bit and give up, even he is not dumb enough to be near his probes.

I am in warp back to the gate when the scout starts screaming: “HE’S HERE!! I JUST UNCLOAKED HIM!!!

There are times when I wish my Huginn was fitted with a hand brake. I manage to get back in time to put some damage on him before he goes down. It turns out that the reason we couldn’t find him was that he was sitting, not NEAR his probes, but right in the middle of them!

The scout was passing through the probes to start a grid pattern search on the other side of them when he decloaked our old mate.

The second guy was just a plain leech, never showed for fleets, never got on comms much and when he did it was always in a separate channel. He was shown the door, no particular acrimony involved.

Next week he shows up with three alts and proceeds to cloaky camp three systems for a couple of days. He leaves for a week or so and then shows up again to rinse and repeat.

It’s annoying, but as we know he’s rubbish at PVP, fits are altered slightly, PVP ships are kept handy and we carry on as before.

This whole phenomenon amazes me. Why do people do this?

I’ve left corps before, only once was it acrimonious and that was because of the alliance, not the corp. So why join a corp when you are told from the start what the rules are and don’t agree with them?

After having left (or been booted), why make a dick of yourself to all your old corpmates? Your old corpies all have contacts in other corps, surely these bitter people realise that their reputation will go with them, don’t they?

***********************************************************************

“Hi, my name’s Johnnie Dickwad and I’d like to join your corp.”

“Sure, what are your favourite playstyles?”

“Well, I like to lose expensive ships, cloaky fag systems and don’t like to socialize. I also expect to make big iskies without having to go on boring fleets. I hate people in general and myself in particular and enjoy drowning kittens in my spare time.”

“I see, and do you have any references from previous corps?”

“No, they’re all wankers and they hate me for some reason that I can’t fathom.”

*******************************************************************

I have left corps where I didn’t fit in. I have found myself annoyed with one American corp in particular whose leadership was never around and the members were elitist pricks of the first water.

So I left. Moved my gear out and then sent a politely worded corp mail, thanking them for my time with them and wishing them all the best for the future.

And forgot all about them.

If you’re ever tempted to “get even with those bastards” by doing something nasty, ask yourself why. What’s the real reason for doing that? If the answer is that you would enjoy it, ask yourself if you will enjoy the probable consequences, both in the long and short-term.

And stay away from kittens.

It’s all in the mind, you know.

One response to “Bitter

  1. I’m not surprised to be honest. EVE brings out the best, and worst in people. Mix a bit of embarrassment with self-entitlement and indignation, and you get the results you are talking about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

